Dyfed Powys officers among those honoured at bravery awards

Two police officers from Dyfed Powys were among the nominees honoured at the Police Federation of England and Wales’ Police Bravery Awards 2020 held in London this week.

PC Ian Chattun and Sergeant Katy Evans were put forward for the awards after they ran into the sea to save the life of a woman who was drowning.

Ian and Katy attended Tuesday awards alongside their partners, as well as Dyfed Powys Federation branch chair Gareth Jones, branch secretary Roger Webb, and Police and Crime Commissioner Dafydd Llywelyn.

In addition to the ceremony, which was sponsored by Police Mutual, all the nominees were also invited to a reception at Downing Street hosted by Home Secretary Priti Patel.

Gareth said: “Ian and Katy were very worthy nominees for the Police Bravery Awards. Their quick thinking, courage and willingness to lay their lives on the line for a member of the public demonstrates the finest traditions of policing.

“With last year’s bravery awards postponed due to the pandemic, it’s wonderful that we were finally able to honour them in person, and I hope they know how proud the whole Federation is of their achievements.”

A total of 93 nominees from 42 forces were honoured at the awards for their exceptional courage in the line of duty, with the overall award being presented to Met PC Stuart Outten, who managed to subdue a suspect who was attacking him with a machete. PC Outten suffered six deep wounds to his head, skull fractures, and two wounds to his arm as well as multiple finger fractures.

National Federation chair John Apter said: “We have the finest police officers in the world - dedicated public servants who, without hesitation, put themselves in danger to protect others. They are humble, professional and committed individuals who I am proud to call my colleagues.

“Police officers are everyday heroes who are anything but ordinary. My congratulations go to PC Stuart Outten and all the Police Bravery Awards nominees. They deserve every bit of recognition they receive.”